World Superbike championships in Aragon won by Chaz Davies

Aragon held World Superbike championships

Welsh motorcyclist Chaz Davies is now second in the world championship after winning both races in the World Superbike championships in Aragon, his first wins since joining the BMW Motorrad team this season

The next round of the Superbikes World Championship takes place in Assen, Netherlands, on Sunday, April 28.

The championship takes in 15 rounds of races, reaching a climax at the Buddah circuit in India on 17 November.

Davies says he’s confident he can continue to challenge as the season develops.

Davies was named Superbike rookie of the year in 2012, after winning the World Supersport Championship in 2011.

He switched from the ParkinGo Aprilia team to Motorrad BMW at the end of last season, and told BBC Radio Wales he was thrilled with his debut wins for his new team.

The leaders of the championships are Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia) 85, Chaz Davies (BMW) 63, Eugene Laverty (Aprilia) 45, Marco Milandri (BMW) 43, and Michael Fabrizio (Aprilia) 42.

Author badge placeholder
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing, by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page