Spain’s World Cup 2014 Squad

Atletico Madrid's Diego Costa has made the cut.

Spain’s manager Vicente del Bosque has named his 23-man squad for this summer’s World Cup in Brazil. Del Bosque has opted for 16 players from La Roja’s 2010 World Cup winning team, proving that if it’s not broken there’s no need to fix it.


Spain will be hoping that del Bosque has put forward a winning formula as they fight to retain their world title.  

Following the release of the country’s provisional list there were a few question marks.

Atletico Madrid’s Brazilian-born Diego Costa sustained an injury, resulting in del Bosque reportedly delaying his final list to wait for the star player’s recovery. After some recuperation time Costa has now made the final cut.

Chelsea’s Fernando Torres was another uncertain player. However, after he scored in the recent Spain-Bolivia friendly del Bosque obviously wants him on-side.

The team is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool), David De Gea (Manchester United).

Defenders: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich), Juanfran (Atletico Madrid), Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea).

Midfielders: Xavi (Barcelona), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Juan Mata (Manchester United), David Silva (Manchester City).

Forwards: Pedro (Barcelona), Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), David Villa (Atletico Madrid), Fernando Torres (Chelsea).

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published.