Four English and five Spanish clubs reach Champions League group stage

Wayne Rooney speaks to the press.

BREAKING his goal drought, a hat trick from Wayne Rooney against Club Brugge meant that Manchester United qualified for the European Champions League Group Stage winning 7–1 on aggregate.

They join the regular English contenders, Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester City in the draw, which takes place on August 27.

With the most teams competing, Spain has five qualifiers and together with England, they represent nine out of the 32 teams in the draw, competing for the title currently held by Barcelona.

There will be eight qualifying groups each consisting of four teams, none of whom can be from the same country, so this football championship also becomes something of a mathematical challenge.

All of these and the subsequent knock out stages lead up to the final which will be held at the San Siro stadium in Milan on May 28, 2016.

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published.