BREAKING: Boris Johnson wins second ballot of Conservative MPs for leadership contest, Dominic Raab eliminated

WINNER: Johnson came out on top in the second ballot of Conservative MPs. Credit: Shutterstock

BORIS JOHNSON has won the most votes from MPs in the second round of voting for the Conservative leadership contest today (Tuesday).

A total of 126 MPs backed the former Foreign Secretary who came first by a wide margin in the first round.

The voting saw former Brexit Secretary Dominic Raab eliminated from the contest to succeed current leader and Prime Minister Theresa May after he won 30 votes. There are now five contenders left in the contest.

Current Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt came second with 46 votes while Environment Secretary Michael Gove came third with 41.

International Development Secretary Rory Stewart came fourth with 37 votes while Home Secretary Sajid Javid finished second to bottom with 33.

Those still in the running to succeed May will now go through to further ballots of Conservative MPs.

The two most popular candidates at the end of the rounds of voting will then go head-to-head in a ballot of Conservative members.

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Joe Gerrard

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page