Seven Catalan Independents Sentenced To Prison Without Bail


AFTER TESTIFYING before the judge of the National Court of Spain, Manuel García Castellón, the seven detainees – Edard Garzón, Xavier Buigas i Llobet, David Budria, Jordi Ros Solá, Xavier Duch Palau, Ferran Solis and Alexis Codina – have been sentence to prison without bail.

The seven independent militants belonging to the Technical Response Teams (ERT) of the Defence Committees of the Republic (CDR) are being investigated for the alleged crimes of terrorism, possession of explosives and sabotage.

The Spanish judge based his decision on the investigation of a year and a half formulated by the Civil Guard agents in Catalonia, who had elaborated a surveillance and counter-surveillance device for the most radical groups of the CDRs, among which are the groupings to those belonging to the detainees.

More than 500 agents participated in the operation which was carried out in total secrecy – the Interior Minister Fernando Grande-Marlaska was not even informed, nor were the Catalan autonomous police.

At least two of the detainees have acknowledged that they had participated in the purchase of products for the manufacture of explosives and in the testing of the materials with the objective of carrying out sabotage actions to commemorate the second anniversary of the referendum of October 1, 2017.

After the court appearances, the Public Ministry, the prosecutor Miguel Ángel Carballo has requested provisional prison without bail for each and every one of them.

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Cristina Hodgson

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published.