Coronavirus Travel Restrictions: How Brits Are Affected

UK Border, Heathrow by dannyman

If you recently visited China or Italy, you may not be allowed entry into several countries all over the world. The reason is the ongoing coronavirus epidemic, and countries are taking preventative measures to protect their citizens. The coronavirus has now spread to 70 countries, and restrictions are being more widespread.

The International Air Transport Association (IATA) has a document on their website with a list of countries where restrictions are in place.

If you have travelled to China in the last 14-28 days, you are not allowed entry into Australia, Bahamas, many Caribbean Islands, India, Indonesia, Madagascar, New Zeeland, Malaysia and USA, among others.

If you have visited Italy in the last 14 days, you will be denied entry into the Cook Islands, Fiji; Israel, Mauritius, Mongolia and Seychelles, among others.

Locations with a ban on people travelling from the UK are the federal states of Micronesia and the Comoro Islands. Brits will also face an immediate quarantine if they go to the Solomon Islands.

Overall, European countries still have few travel restrictions in place, so far. English airports have introduced advanced monitoring at airports with direct flights from China and Heathrow has health experts in place, ready to support anyone who arrives from China who’s feeling unwell.

For more information and updates, you can visit: 

Author badge placeholder
Written by

Henric Sundlof