Coronavirus Pandemic: New EU Guidelines Stop Sick Travellers

Image: Shutterstock

Today, new guidelines have been presented from the EU Commission regulating travelling to, from and within the union. “Travelers who have been found to be exposed to or affected by COVID-19 should not be allowed to travel,” the guidelines state. 

It is also emphasised that all who arrive in the Schengen zone – the EU’s passport-free area – must be checked and that it may also include health checks.

In addition, it is stated that non-EU citizens who are not resident in the EU can be refused entry “if they have relevant symptoms or are particularly at risk of infection and are considered a threat to public health”.

“Restricting the spread of the virus, arranging enough medical equipment, promoting research and limiting the financial impact is key,” Permanent Council President of the European Union, Charles Michel, wrote on Twitter earlier today in regards to the new guidelines.

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Henric Sundlof


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *