Spain Loses Bid to Win Eurogroup Presidency

New president, Paschal Donohoe Credit: Brookings Institution flickr

The Irish Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe was the surprise choice to be elected as new President of the Eurogroup, heading the group of finance ministers from the 19 countries who belong to the euro zone.

Early speculation was that the heavily supported Spanish Economy Minister Nadia Calvino, would take the highly influential role.

It is however possible that ministers voting decided that the current Spanish Government would have difficulty in implementing its radical economic programme and therefore Sr. Calvino could face a conflict of interest.

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

John Smith

Married to Ophelia in Gibraltar in 1978, John has spent much of his life travelling on security print and minting business and visited every continent except Antarctica. Having retired several years ago, the couple moved to their house in Estepona and John became a regular news writer for the EWN Media Group taking particular interest in Finance, Gibraltar and Costa del Sol Social Scene. Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published.