The Basque Country Closes Borders in All its Municipalities

Spain’s Basque Country joins Asturias, Aragón, Navarra and La Rioja in the border closure of its community.

Aragon and Asturias in the North of Spain, now join the border closures in force since last week in Navarra and La Rioja. The president of Asturias, Adrián Barbón (PSOE), proposed this afternoon the perimeter closure of the Principality within the framework of the powers handed to him by the state of alarm.

The president of Aragon, socialist Javier Lambán, announced the border closure of the autonomous community from 00.00 (midnight) this Tuesday until November 9. This afternoon, the Basque Government announced that apart from closing its borders, it will also prevent the movement of people in and out of all its municipalities- except for exceptional causes like work, health, educational reasons or for the care of the elderly and dependents.

Thank you for taking the time to read this news article “The Basque Country Closes Borders in All its Municipalities ”. For more UK daily news, Spanish daily news and Global news stories, visit the Euro Weekly News home page.

Euro Weekly News is delighted to continue to be able to bring you a range of News from around Spain in English and Global News live as it happens.

Euro Weekly News doesn’t cost you anything but your internet connection. Whether it’s bringing you the local Spanish news or the International news today, we’ve got you covered!

Euro Weekly News, the leading free local and national newspaper in Spain, the people’s paper, we lead others follow!

Author badge placeholder
Written by

Tony Winterburn

Share your story with us by emailing, by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page