Weather Warning For Twenty-Nine Provinces Across Spain

Weather Warning For Twenty-Nine Provinces Across Spain

CREDIT: Guardia Civil Almeria

WEATHER warning issued for twenty-nine provinces across Spain as temperatures continue to plummet

The State Meteorological Agency (Aemet) has extended weather warnings to a total of twenty-nine provinces across Spain for snow, freezing temperatures and waves on Monday, January 4. While much of the country is forecast to have very cold temperatures and some rain, some areas have been warned of extreme weather.

Snowfall on Monday is expected to reach between 300 and 500 meters in the north of Spain, and between 500 and 700 metres in the southern half of the country. The provinces of Zaragoza, Asturias, Cantabria, Burgos, León, Lugo, Navarra, Álava, Guipúzcoa and Vizcaya have all been placed under a yellow weather warning for snowfall.

Strong gusts have led to a yellow warning for waves in Asturias, Cantabria and Vizcaya, while the Basque ports of Arantzazu, Arlaban, Trabakua, Barrerilla, Elosua and Sollube have been completely closed due to wind and ice.

 Full details of all weather warnings, region by region, can be found on the Aemet website.


Thank you for taking the time to read this news article “Weather Warning For Twenty-Nine Provinces Across Spain”. For more UK daily news, Spanish daily news and Global news stories, visit the Euro Weekly News home page.

Author badge placeholder
Written by

Sarah Keane

Former teacher and health services manager with a Degree in English, Sarah moved to Spain from Southern Ireland with her husband, who runs his own car rental business, in 2019. She is now enjoying a completely different pace and quality of life on the Costa Blanca South, with wonderful Spanish and expat friends in Cabo Roig. Sarah began working with Euro Weekly News in 2020 and loves nothing more than bringing all the latest national and international news to her local community.