UK Announce Sanctions on Six Allies of Syria President Bashar al-Assad

CREDIT: Twitter

UK Announce Sanctions on Six Allies of Syria President Bashar al-Assad.

THE United Kingdom has introduced sanctions against six officials close to President Bashar al-Assad – including his foreign minister and close advisers.

Foreign Minister Faisal Miqdad, Adviser Luna al-Shibl, Financier Yassar Ibrahim and Businessman Muhammad Bara’ Al-Qatirji, Republican Guard commander Malik Aliaa and Army Major Zaid Salah have all been named

Foreign Secretary Dominic Raab announced the action on the 10th anniversary of the Syrian uprising. The asset freezes and travel bans – imposed on foreign minister Faisal Miqdad and other officials – are a response to the Assad regime’s “wholesale assault” on the people of Syria, Raab said.

“Assad regime has subjected the Syrian people to a decade of brutality for the temerity of demanding peaceful reform. Today, we are holding six more individuals from the regime to account for their wholesale assault on the very citizens they should be protecting,” Raab concluded.

The new restrictive measures against top Syrian officials come as a decade has passed since Syria descended into a bloody civil war that grew to involve multiple regional and foreign actors.

Thank you for taking the time to read this news article “UK Announce Sanctions on Six Allies of Syria President Bashar al-Assad”. For more UK daily news, Spanish daily news and Global news stories, visit the Euro Weekly News home page.

Euro Weekly News doesn’t cost you anything but your internet connection. Whether it’s bringing you the local Spanish news or the International news today, we’ve got you covered!

Written by

Matthew Roscoe

Originally from the UK, Matthew is based on the Costa Blanca and is a web reporter for The Euro Weekly News covering international and Spanish national news. Got a news story you want to share? Then get in touch at