Technical observers reveal EURO 2020 Team of the Tournament

EURO 2020

Image: UEFA

UEFA’s team of technical observers has released the UEFA EURO 2020 Team of the Tournament, featuring five Italy players, three from England and one each from Belgium, Denmark and Spain.

Five players from UEFA EURO 2020 winners Italy and three from the runners-up England have been named in the UEFA EURO 2020 Team of the Tournament. A player each from Belgium, Denmark and Spain complete the line-up, which was selected by UEFA’s technical observer team.

Italy goalkeeper Gianluigi Donnarumma was named as the UEFA EURO 2020 Player of the Tournament, while 18-year-old Spanish midfielder Pedri won the Young Player of the Tournament award, and both are included in the line-up.

The technical observers chose a 4-3-3 formation, which was one of the most frequently used during the tournament. The line-up included the following players, all of whom are making their first appearance in a UEFA EURO Team of the Tournament:

Gianluigi Donnarumma (Italy); Kyle Walker (England), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy), Harry Maguire (England), Leonardo Spinazzola (Italy); Jorginho (Italy), Pierre-Emile Hojbjerg (Denmark), Pedri (Spain); Federico Chiesa (Italy), Romelu Lukaku (Belgium), Raheem Sterling (England)

The line-up was selected by UEFA’s technical observer team, which was made up of 16 former players and former/current coaches including Ireland’s Packie Bonner and Robbie Keane; Scotland’s David Moyes and Spain’s Gines Melendez.

Thank you for reading, and don’t forget to check The Euro Weekly News for all your up-to-date local and international news stories.

Author badge placeholder
Written by

Deirdre Tynan

Deirdre Tynan is an award-winning journalist who enjoys bringing the best in news reporting to Spain’s largest English-language newspaper, Euro Weekly News. She has previously worked at The Mirror, Ireland on Sunday and for news agencies, media outlets and international organisations in America, Europe and Asia. A huge fan of British politics and newspapers, Deirdre is equally fascinated by the political scene in Madrid and Sevilla. She moved to Spain in 2018 and is based in Jaen.