Taliesin to unveil UNESCO World Heritage Plaque

Image: Courtesy of Taliesin Preservation

Frank Lloyd Wright’s Taliesin is to unveil its UNESCO World Heritage Plaque, the unveiling ceremony will be celebrated both virtually and in person on September 15.

Taliesin Preservation and the Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation are unveiling a new plaque at the architect’s 800-acre estate in the rural Driftless Hills near Spring Green, WI, celebrating the site’s inclusion on the UNESCO World Heritage list.

“This is an incredible moment for Taliesin Preservation, our sister organisation The Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation, and our incredible community of friends, partners and donors. As a UNESCO World Heritage Site we are now officially recognised worldwide for bringing outstanding cultural and natural heritage to humanity and we pledge to continue this as a laboratory for living in the 21st century,” said Carrie Rodamaker, Executive Director, Taliesin Preservation.

“This designation is a great source of national pride, and while eight buildings are included in the inscription, it recognises the importance of Wright’s work, embodied in every one of his buildings and designs. These sites are not simply World Heritage monuments because they are beautiful. It’s so much more than that. These are places of profound influence, inspiration and connection,” added Stuart Graff, President & CEO, Frank Lloyd Wright Foundation.

Taliesin Preservation produces innovative cultural and educational programming at Taliesin, Frank Lloyd Wright’s 800-acre estate in the rural Driftless hills of Wisconsin. Taliesin has served as a living laboratory for over one-hundred years, exploring and advancing organic principles in everyday life, where home, community, farm, the arts, education and the environment are deeply connected and work as an integrated whole.

The Frank Lloyd Wright Building Conservancy, based in Chicago, IL, spearheaded the serial nomination of eight major works by Wright. The inscription includes Unity Temple, the Frederick C. Robie House, Hollyhock House, Fallingwater, the Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House, Taliesin, Taliesin West and the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum.

The inscription for Wright’s works was announced in 2019, during the 43rd session of the World Heritage Committee. Wright’s buildings are the first US Modern Architecture to be included on the United Nations’ list of the world’s most significant cultural and natural sites, representing American design for the first time on a global stage. Taliesin was chosen to be a part of this honour as a great example of an organic connection to the surrounding landscape of the driftless region. The inscription is an honorary distinction that provides additional protection of the properties.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article, please remember to come back and check The Euro Weekly News website for all your up-to-date local and international news stories and follow us on Facebook and Instagram.


Author badge placeholder
Written by

Deirdre Tynan

Deirdre Tynan is an award-winning journalist who enjoys bringing the best in news reporting to Spain’s largest English-language newspaper, Euro Weekly News. She has previously worked at The Mirror, Ireland on Sunday and for news agencies, media outlets and international organisations in America, Europe and Asia. A huge fan of British politics and newspapers, Deirdre is equally fascinated by the political scene in Madrid and Sevilla. She moved to Spain in 2018 and is based in Jaen.