BREAKING: Morocco launches new e-Visa making it easier for millions of tourists

BREAKING: Morocco launches new e-Visa making it easier for millions of tourists

BREAKING: Morocco launches new e-Visa making it easier for millions of tourists. Image: EQRoy/

ON Sunday, July 10, Morocco launched a new e-Visa which will make it easier for millions of tourists to visit the country.

In an aim to boost the county’s tourism sector, Morocco has launched a new e-Visa as it looks to recover from the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic.

Official figures show:

  • 1.5 million tourists visited Morocco in the first 4 months of 2022
  • Tourism revenues in Morocco increased by 123% over the last year

“The Morocco visa is an electronic travel permit which allows you to travel to the country for tourism and business purposes,” the official website read.

“The online visa for Morocco is 100 per cent electronic, replacing traditional paper visa labels. You can show the approved e-Visa on a digital device, such as a phone or tablet, or a paper copy.

“Once you have your online Moroccan visa, you simply need to present your passport to border security. They will then scan your document to confirm your approved e-Visa for Morocco.”

It added: “This digital version of a visa is much more efficient than traditional visa formats, which require applying in person and are physically attached to your passport.”

Currently, citizens of around 60 countries can enter Morocco without a visa, although all other nationalities must have a valid Morocco visa to enter the country.

According to the website, there are 2 different ways to apply for a Moroccan visa:

  • Through the online e-Visa service (recommended)
  • In-person at an embassy or consulate.

“If you are eligible for the Morocco e-Visa, it’s the easiest and fastest option as the process is completely online,” the website read.

e-Visa eligible countries

Over 100 nationalities can apply for the Morocco e-Visa. Most of these travellers must be a resident or visa holder of:

  • Any Schengen country
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Ireland
  • Japan
  • New Zealand
  • United Kingdom
  • United States

Additionally, citizens of Israel or Thailand can apply using just their passports.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article, do remember to come back and check The Euro Weekly News website for all your up-to-date local and international news stories and remember, you can also follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Written by

Matthew Roscoe

Originally from the UK, Matthew is based on the Costa Blanca and is a web reporter for The Euro Weekly News covering international and Spanish national news. Got a news story you want to share? Then get in touch at