New Rules For Britons Travelling To Europe Next Year

New Permit Needed For Visits To EU In 2024

UK – EU border controls. Credit: estherpoon/

The rules of travel to Europe have changed. Starting from next year, any Britons planning a European getaway will need a new travel permit to visit certain European nations.

Starting in 2024, British tourists travelling to 30 European countries, including popular destinations like Spain, France, Greece, and Cyprus, will be required to obtain a European Union travel permit. This initiative is part of the European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS).

The ETIAS Scheme: What You Need To Know

The ETIAS system links the travel permit directly to the traveller’s passport. According to the EU’s official website, it will be ‘valid for up to three years or until the passport expires.’

The European Union has advised that this authorisation should be secured even before making any travel arrangements: ‘We strongly advise you to obtain the ETIAS travel authorisation before you buy your tickets and book your hotels.’

The site advised: ‘Most applications are processed within minutes.’ However, it added: ‘It is possible however that your application may take longer to process. If so, you will receive a decision within four days.

‘Please note that this period could be extended by up to 14 days if you are requested to provide additional information or documentation, or up to 30 days if you are invited to an interview.’

For this reason, it is advisable that anyone planning to travel to Europe should apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation well in advance of their journey.

Application Process and Important Guidelines

To get this permit, you’ll need to complete an application form. This task can also be delegated to an authorised individual, such as a family member or a travel agent. An application fee of €7 is also required.

Make sure your travel documents, like your passport, are current and have sufficient validity remaining: ‘We advise you not to travel with a document that will expire soon.’

Your ETIAS Check-List

  • Apply for an ETIAS travel authorisation well in advance – before you buy your ticket or book your accommodation
  • Make sure your passport details correspond to those in your ETIAS authorisation – you will be refused boarding and entry at the border if they do not match
  • Make sure your ETIAS travel authorisation is still valid
  • Check how long you can stay in the European countries requiring ETIAS
  • Make sure your passport is valid for three months after your intended departure from the European countries requiring ETIAS – you will be refused entry at the border if it is not

In summary, if you’re considering a trip to Europe, it’s crucial to be aware of these new travel requirements. Failure to comply could result in being denied entry, so it’s advisable to sort out all necessary documentation well in advance of your journey.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article. Do remember to come back and check The Euro Weekly News website for all your up-to-date local and international news stories and remember, you can also follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Written by

John Ensor

Originally from Doncaster, Yorkshire, John now lives in Galicia, Northern Spain with his wife Nina. He is passionate about news, music, cycling and animals.


    • Johm

      29 August 2023 • 15:10

      But, not all countries in Europe including the UK are part of the EU. You would not need it to travel to Wales, Albania or many othet European countries.

      • John Smith

        29 August 2023 • 18:10

        In actual fact it’s more than just the 27 EU states and those requiring ETIAS visa are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czechia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. In addition, in order to access Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and Vatican City you would need an ETIAS because you can’t fly directly although possibly you can travel by sea to Monaco.

    • Bob Edwards

      30 August 2023 • 12:01

      So what happens about uk citizens with residency in a Eu country ie Spain with a residency card will they still need this ???

    • Sheena Parfitt

      30 August 2023 • 12:47

      Living in Spain with permanent residency but having a British passport, how does it effect us travelling in and out of UK but also within Europe. Thank you

      • John Smith

        30 August 2023 • 15:37

        Sheena as things stand at the moment if you are a UK passport holder with residency flying from Spain to another Schengen country there is no requirement to show passports so it seems ETIAS would not be required but things do change as the politicians and civil servants look to come up with new bright ideas.

    • Ordinary Joe

      30 August 2023 • 19:54

      ETIAS is not specific to “Britons planning a European getaway”.
      Nor is it specific to all of the EU countries.
      It is specific to all Nationals of the 59 countries not in the EU but currently able to enter the Schengen Area Visa-free.

      The Schengen Area consists of: –
      Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

      EU countries Bulgaria, Republic of Cyprus, The Republic of Ireland, and Romania are in the EU but not a part of the Schengen Area.
      Therefore travel between these and Schengen Area countries is still passport controlled.
      Ireland and Britain also share a Common Travel Area, allowing their citizens to freely travel between the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom.

      The ETIAS is not a Visa, instead it is a security device: –
      1. Identify those intending to enter the Schengen Zone, in order to prevent criminals or terrorists or their supporter’s gaining entry.
      2. Identify those overstaying the Schengen Zone 90-day visa-free period.
      3. Identify ‘tourists’ exceeding Visa-free activities, during the 90 days visitors cannot work or study but can engage in business and tourism activities.

      The administrative uses of the ETIAS are described at: –

      “Besides making travelling more secure, the ETIAS authorization will also assist the EU countries and all travellers in the following ways:

      Reduce procedures and application times.
      Improve the management of EU country borders.
      Assist in detecting and decreasing crime and terrorism.
      Impede irregular migration.
      Reinforce the visa liberalization policy of the EU.

      All in all, the ETIAS authorization will make travelling to the EU less of a hassle and a much safer experience.”

      Citizens of these countries are allowed to go into countries in the Schengen Zone for business or travel purposes for up to 90 days.
      During these 90 days, these visitors cannot work or study but can engage in business and tourism activities.
      The ETIAS will undergo a detailed security check of each applicant to determine whether they can be allowed to enter any Schengen Zone country.
      While citizens of countries who do not need a visa for travel purposes of up to 90 days in the EU do not need to go through a long process of applying for the visa, the ETIAS will make sure that these people are not a security threat.
      This travel authorization system will gather, keep track of, and update necessary information regarding visitors to determine whether it is safe for them to enter Schengen countries.

      Ordinary Joe

    Comments are closed.