New Chair Janet De Vries (left) with outgoing Chair, Rosemary Bull

ESRA North is the largest of the English Speaking Residents Association districts on Mallorca.

Retiring Chair of ESRA North, Rosemary Bull was able to report on even more developments during the last year at the AGM held at Meson Crestatx.

She talked about the very successful ‘Thursday Club’ in Puerto Pollensa, which now, as well as providing a popular place to have coffee and meet friends, boasts a bridge group, a craft group, Spanish lessons and beginners computer sessions.

The Crestatx Club is now well-established and provides opportunities for members to play Indoor Bowls and New Age Kurling.

Rosemary congratulated the members of ESRA North on successful large events which had meant that more than €3,350 had been donated to charities. ESRA North played host to the All Island Flower Show and will do so again this year.

The treasurer reported a good year, with a healthy budget. A new Committee was elected and new Chair, Janet De Vrieis outlined her plans for the coming year.

There are plans for developing the monthly lunches and dinners as well as expanding the activities of The Thursday Club and The Crestatx Club.

Janet expressed her support for the expanding Member Support group and invited members to join the team. There are already plans in hand for the Diamond Jubilee Celebrations later in the year, and Janet is hoping to be able to re-start the idea of a Christmas Holiday for members elsewhere on the island.

At the end of the meeting Janet thanked Rosemary Bull for her contribution to ESRA North and presented her with flowers.

ESRA North has experienced another successful year and it feels that ESRA North can only go from strength to strength.

ESRA North New Committee
The New ESRA North Committee is:

Chair: Janet De Vries
Vice Chair: Howard Mullen
Secretary: Debbie Potgieter
Treasurer: Jill Patch
Membership Secretary: Christine Maynard
Social Secretary: Joyce Thewlis
Member Support Officer: Howard Mullen
Newsletter Editor: Brian Lowndes
Voting Member: Pam Dabney
Voting Member: Alan Forsyth
Voting Member: Jane Raeburn

By Howard Mullen  

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published.