By Euro Weekly News Media • 03 December 2015 • 16:14
IT has emerged following a complaint lodged ‘reluctantly’ by the Cadiz team, that Real Madrid played Russian Denis Cheryshev in a match against them, despite the fact that he should have been serving a suspension following a third yellow card in the Copa del Rey in the previous season when he was playing for Villareal.
Real Madrid won this this game against Cadiz on December 2 and the Russian who scored the first goal was withdrawn at half time, presumably because the team coach Rafa Benitez and other officials realised what had happened.
According to the club, neither they nor the player were aware of the suspension although it is alleged that the coach was notified of the fact by the Spanish football federation in August.
A great deal will now depend on whether both club and player were alerted to the suspension in accordance with tournament rules and if so, it is quite possible that Real Madrid will be eliminated from the Cup.
Share this story
Subscribe to our Euro Weekly News alerts to get the latest stories into your inbox!
By signing up, you will create a Euro Weekly News account if you don’t already have one. Review our
Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page www.facebook.com/EuroWeeklyNews
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Download our media pack in either English or Spanish.