UK Arts subjects to be made harder

Subjects will be reformed under the new plans.

UK GCSE and A-level arts subjects are to be made more difficult in the latest stage of a major exams system overhaul.


Nine GCSE subjects and six A-levels will be reformed under the new plans.

September 2016 will see new GCSEs in art and design, music, drama, dance, citizenship, computer science, design and technology, PE and religious studies.

Education Secretary Michael Gove said: “I am passionate about great art, drama, dance, music and design, and I am determined to ensure every child enjoys access to the best in our culture.

“That is why I am delighted that new high-quality qualifications in creative and cultural subjects will be made available to all students.”

GCSE grades in England will be replaced with a numbered system, making it easier for examiners to distinguish between the brightest students.

The new scale will also see an extra grade added into a revamped qualifications system from one to nine – with nine being the highest available mark.

Under the plans, AS-levels will be separated from A-levels and become a qualification in themselves.

In the future, students taking A-levels will no longer sit exams after one year, but will be tested instead at the end of their two-year course.



Author badge placeholder
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing, by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page