La Vuelta returns to Andalucia after year of absence

La Vuelta's 2017 route.

LA VUELTA’S route for 2017 has been announced and for the third time in its history, will be starting outside Spain. 

The route will start on Saturday August 19 and ends on Sunday September 10, covering a total distance of 3,300 kilometres.

La Vuelta will run through most of Costa Blanca, starting in Benicasim for stage five, Villareal for stage six and Lliria for stage seven.

Hellin marks the start of stage eight, stage nine starts in Orihuela and stage 10 in Caravaca.

Stage 11 starts in Lorca and ends in Calar Alto.

The route then moves to Antequera, with Motril marking the start of Stage 12.

Coin is as close as La Vuelta comes to the Costa del Sol for the start of Stage 13 before heading to Ecilla in Sevilla.

Orihuela, Motril and Coin are among some of the new starting points of the route, which first started in 1935 and this year will be the 72nd race. 

Andalucia was not included in any stages of last year´s route but will host roughly a quarter of the race this year. 

FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page