By John Smith • 09 July 2017 • 9:51
Children taking communion
IN a letter issued at the behest of Pope Francis, Roman Catholics have been told that the Eucharist may not be made from gluten-free substances.
Although the instruction sent to bishops by Cardinal Robert Sarah of the Vatican’s Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments is meant for members of the clergy, the decision may affect many of the estimated 1.2 billion practising Catholics worldwide.
The pronouncement reflects the fact that the bread and wine and the Last Supper will not have contained any artificial additives, although it has been agreed that the Host may be low-gluten provided it contains sufficient wheat to allow production without additives and may be made from genetically modified organisms.
In addition, the wine used in the ceremony must be made from grapes only without any additives or chemicals.
Share this story
Subscribe to our Euro Weekly News alerts to get the latest stories into your inbox!
By signing up, you will create a Euro Weekly News account if you don’t already have one. Review our
Married to Ophelia in Gibraltar in 1978, John has spent much of his life travelling on security print and minting business and visited every continent except Antarctica.
Having retired several years ago, the couple moved to their house in Estepona and John became a regular news writer for the EWN Media Group taking particular interest in Finance, Gibraltar and Costa del Sol Social Scene.
Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page www.facebook.com/EuroWeeklyNews
So the bread canÃÂ´t be gluten free but it can be GMO??? What planet is he on? Saturn I expect
Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *
Downlaod our media pack in either English or Spanish.