Spanish Minister is Front Runner to become President of Eurogroup of Finance Ministers

WITH the stepping down of Mario Centeno of Portugal, a new President of the Eurogroup of Finance Ministers from the 19 members of the Eurozone will need to be elected.

There are three candidates in the running, Ireland’s Paschal Donohoe, Luxembourg’s Pierre Gramegna and current favourite Spain’s Economy Minister Nadia Calvino.

Whoever is elected on July 9 will have the difficult job of trying to persuade member states to balance their budgets in the aftermath of the Covid-19 pandemic and the huge rise in unemployment across the zone.

Written by

John Smith

Married to Ophelia in Gibraltar in 1978, John has spent much of his life travelling on security print and minting business and visited every continent except Antarctica. Having retired several years ago, the couple moved to their house in Estepona and John became a regular news writer for the EWN Media Group taking particular interest in Finance, Gibraltar and Costa del Sol Social Scene. Currently he is acting as Editorial Consultant for the paper helping to shape its future development. Share your story with us by emailing, by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page