Five Spanish based players announced in first half of Ballon D’Or nominees

Cristiano Ronaldo is vying for his fifth Ballon d’Or

FIVE Spanish based players have been named on the first release of the shortlisted Ballon D’or nominees.

The list of 15, announced on France Football’s Twitter, includes Real Madrid trio Marcelo, Sergio Ramos and Luka Modric have made the 30 man shortlist, alongside Atletico Madrid ‘keeper Jan Oblak and Barcelona’s Luis Suarez. 

Manchester United’s David De Gea is the only other Spaniard, alongside Sergio Ramos, to be announced so far.

The prestigious award has been won by either Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi for the past nine years, with the Ronaldo the favourte to pick up his fifth Ballon D’Or this year.

Liverpool’s Phillipe Coutinho, who seemed destined for Barcelona during this summer’s transfer window, is also included and the man he looked to replace, Neymar, joins him.

They join Premier League trio N’Golo Kante, Kevin De Bruyne and Harry Kane, alongside Roma’s Edin Dzeko, Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski and Napoli’s Dries Mertens.

Athletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann also made the list along with Real Madrid midfielder Toni Kroos, Gianluigi Buffon, Sadio Mane and Radamel Falcao.

A further five will be announced at 6:35pm, with the full list of nominees expected to be announced at 7:15pm this evening (Monday).


FacebookTwitterRedditWhatsAppTelegramLinkedInEmailCopy Link
Go Back
Written by

Euro Weekly News Media

Share your story with us by emailing [email protected], by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page


    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *