NO real change as ruling coalition is re-elected in Gibraltar

SUCCESS: Fabian Picardo accepts victory Credit: GBC Twitter

THE GSLP/Liberal coalition was elected for the third term running in yesterday’s General Election in Gibraltar with Chief Minister Fabian Picardo receiving the most number of votes.

All ten alliance politicians were elected (nine of whom were previously MPs) and will form the Government with the leader of the new party Together Gibraltar Marlene Hassan Nahon being the most successful opposition politician.

The make-up of the Gibraltar Parliament will now see 10 alliance members, six GSD members and one from Gibraltar Together.

The alliance received more than 52 per cent of the total vote with the GSD losing support to Together Gibraltar.

Written by

John Smith

Married to Ophelia in Gibraltar in 1978, John has spent much of his life travelling on security print and minting business and visited every continent except Antarctica. Having retired several years ago, the couple moved to their house in Estepona and John became a regular news writer for the EWN Media Group taking particular interest in Finance, Gibraltar and Costa del Sol Social Scene. Currently he is acting as Editorial Consultant for the paper helping to shape its future development. Share your story with us by emailing, by calling +34 951 38 61 61 or by messaging our Facebook page